Webcaster in the Making

I’ve been really busy the last few weeks. It all started about six months ago. I really enjoy listening to educator podcasts like Speed of Creativity and Bit by Bit among others. I was happy, then came along live interactive webcasts. I was hooked! I started participating in weekly shows at edtechtalk. At first it was just as a listener to a live show. I then stated going into the chat. One day I discovered Skype, I could voice my opinion on a live show. There was no turning back then. I have been recording my own podcasts. I did a few last year in my office position and this year as a teacher. Podcasts are great as a professional reflection tool for teachers. I will continue to produce these on my blog. I even have tried a few with students. But having a one man show really isn’t fun. I got the itch to try webcasting and what can I say, I had to scratch. One Sunday I asked a teacher in the chatroom if she would be interested in being a cohost on a webcast. At first we were both hesitant but she entertained the idea. In the same week another regular at edtechtalk asked me if I was interested in starting my own show. Just like that the It’s Elementary Webcast team was formed. We started to plan our webcast. We asked for feedback from the edtechtalk community. About 4 weeks later we produced our first show. The first show on blogs in the classroom was cool, especially after all the editing 🙂 We even got a new member, our first guest became part of the team. Now we are about to do our second show on Webquests on Monday July 23rd at 23:00 GMT (4:00 pacific and 7:00 eastern). We also signed up for the webcast academy. Wow! the things that happen when you follow the yellow brick road.

Explore posts in the same categories: Inside my Mind, Webcast Academy, webcasts

3 Comments on “Webcaster in the Making”

  1. Mathew Says:

    Keep up the good work making our district look good.

  2. Mrs. Durff Says:

    Jose does a wonderful job webcasting!

  3. Cheryl Oakes Says:

    Jose, you are an inspiration telling teachers how easy it is to take a risk and have great benefits! So glad I know you, virtually.
    Cheryl Oakes


Leave a Reply

