Tech Tools for Learning

This is an interesting article by the edtech Guru/Superstar Will Richardson. The article; Tech Tools for Learning, is a quick overview of Web 2.0 tools. I want to focus my reflection on how I currently use these tools or how I envision using them in the classroom. Weblogs; I have two Blogs that I bubble sharepost to. I have a classroom blog. This blog is centered around the learning that is going on in my classroom. I post information on current units of study. I have recently experimented with having students respond to prompts. I am also posting student work with bubble share. You are now reading my professional reflection Blog. RSS; I have used for myself. I use bloglines. I think the way I would use it in the classroom would be for exploring new themes and content. I can subscribe to what we are learning and use that content with the students or have the students respond to this new information on the classroom blog. Podcasts; I have experimented with podcasts this year for my classroom. We posted personal stories as a podcast. We also posted our thoughts after finishing our Storytelling unit. I posted a sound seeing tour of our fieldtrip to the California Science Center. We even created a Vodcast. Here we created a quicktime movie. “A Story About Storytelling“. We were a finalist at Infotech 2007. Webcams; last weekend I bought a webcam for my laptop. In the classroom I hope to use Skype to collaborate with other classrooms. Streaming Video; I think video plays a great part with this generation of students. I don’t have a projector for my classroom but I am able to check one out when I need one. This year I used a projector and found great video to Celebrate Cesar Chavez day. I also took a virtual tour of the California Science Center the day before our fieldtrip. There are also services like United Streaming that organizes the curricular material for classroom use.

Explore posts in the same categories: Read-Write-Web Class

One Comment on “Tech Tools for Learning”

  1. Martha Valencia Says:

    Jose, the way your blog is set up, is for the links to open in a new window? Is that why, when we click on the links they go to the site? Good feature works well, make the page more dynamic.


Leave a Reply

